Bases Named

The Indian Air Force has revealed details of the two main operating bases for the 36 Dassault Rafale fighters it has on order. According to the May announcement, one squadron of Rafales will be based at Air Force Station Ambala, north of New Delhi in the west of the country, and a second unit will be stationed at Air Force Station Hashimara in West Bengal in India’s east.

Ambala is currently home to 5 and 14 Squadrons, each operating the Jaguar, and No.23 Squadron which currently operates the MiG-21bis. Hashimara is currently home to 22 and 222 Squadrons, flying the MiG-27 and MiG-23UB.

The Indian Air Force had previously announced the selection of Hashimara, but has only recently decided upon Ambala as the second base. The first Rafales are due to be delivered from September 2019 and all are expected to have arrived by the end of 2022.