Temora historics to RAAF

The Temora Spitfires, MkVIII A58-758/VH‑HET and MkXVI TB863/ VH‑XVI, are among the 11 aircraft moving to RAAF ownership.

It was announced on 18 April that the Temora Aviation Museum has entered into an agreement to transfer ownership of 11 historic aircraft to the Royal Australian Air Force. The machines, which comprise a Commonwealth Boomerang and Wirraway, Ryan STM S2, Lockheed Hudson, Cessna A-37B Dragonfly, Supermarine Spitfire VIII and XVI, de Havilland Tiger Moth and Vampire T11, Gloster Meteor F8 and English Electric Canberra TT18, will continue to be located at Temora, 260 miles south-west of Sydney, and be maintained by the engineers at the Temora museum which was set up by Australian supermarket magnate and former national aerobatic champion David Lowy in 1999.

A spokesman for the RAAF said, “As we approach our centenary in 2021, this agreement will ensure that these historic aircraft can continue to be preserved, remembered and displayed”. It is understood that the agreement will initially be for five years.