Detailed & Security Issues-Excel Airways XLA136-137 Manchester-Sanford-Manchester

Profile picture for user Jon Taylor

Member for

14 years 1 month

Posts: 459

Hello! Introduction We booked this fly-drive in August 2005 for 2 weeks in Orlando, Before hearing Travel City Directs's Reputation. but i was (a little bit) releaved too hear they had merged with Excel Airways and operate flights for them. I had wanted to fly with Excel Airways but only on shorthaul, not longhaul as they are not really an Longhaul airline. The Passengers on this flight were, Myself, Mother, Father And Sister. Flight Details Airline - Excel Airways Flight Number - XLA 136 / 136L Callsign - "Expo 136 Heavy" Departure Airport - Manchester International Airport / EGCC / UK / MAN Arrival Airport - Orlando Sanford International / KSFB / Florida, USA / SFB Departure Date - Sunday 27th August 2006 Aircraft - Boeing 747-312 'TF-AME' Schedualed Departure Time - 13:30BST | 12:30Z Actual Departure Time - 14:16BST | 13:16Z Schedualed Arrival Time- 17:30EDT | 22:30BST | 21:30Z Actual Arrival Time - 17:26EDT | 22:26BST | 21:26Z Schedualed Boarding Time - 12:30BST 11:30Z Actual Boarding Time - 12:35BST 11:35Z Seats - 16DEFG Departure Gate - 206 Arrival Gate - 4 Check-In Opened -08:30BST Departure Runway - 24R Arrival Runway - 09L Departure Taxiways - D, J, Hold J1 Departure SID - WAL 1 R SELCAL Code - BD-JK The Flight Well we awoke at 7am, had a shower, got dressed (naturally) and headed for T2 Departures to check-in for our holiday to Florida! so we arrived there around 8am and check-in opened at 8:30 we waited went to our check-in desk (there was only 1 for now) too our left, Virgin Atlantic Was check-ing In for VS077 To Barbados, and our right was Qatar Airways check-ing in for flight QR042 To Doha. There was a couple in front of us who we got chatting too. we got to the desk with 5 bags for 4 of us. we got allocated 16D,E,F,G i knew that was in the middle, i was gutted! we asked for a window, but she said "They Are Allocated 24-Hours Before deaprture and are not changeable" so we got out boarding cards. http://i3.photobucket.com/albums/y57/Fly_for_XLA_and_MON/100_0539.jpg http://i3.photobucket.com/albums/y57/Fly_for_XLA_and_MON/100_0541.jpg We then went to the roof, too have a butchers at the traffic, and the poor weather! http://i3.photobucket.com/albums/y57/Fly_for_XLA_and_MON/100_0197.jpg http://i3.photobucket.com/albums/y57/Fly_for_XLA_and_MON/100_0196.jpg http://i3.photobucket.com/albums/y57/Fly_for_XLA_and_MON/100_0195.jpg i then saw Sam (Ringway Sam) didnt say hi as i didnt no it was him untill i got back home. Nice too finally see someone from the forum! I see alot of you was at Manchester on the 27th, there was alot off people on the roof that day, didnt reconise anyone! Ok so then we went because it started raining! we went through security Security With the recent Folied Terror Plot, now you cannot have Liquids Pastes Gels Etc On A Flight! so we got to the checkpoint and i had too put my belt, shoes, necklace, phone and money onto the belt, i was then hand searched, as was everyone, all in all i was extreamly happy with the security at Manchester! was quick and tight! The Flight Ok so boarding started at 12:35 and they boarded Back-Forward, we then got on about 13:15, the captain signed on, a very happy american! seemed very friendly! telling us that our flighttime was expected to be 08:15 and we were ready too pushback! after about 10 minutes with no movements he signed back on and said "Ladies and gentlemen hello again, the captain here, erm we do seem to have a problem, the US Security hasnt yet given us our release form, and we cant go anywhere untill this happens, i cant give you an estimate but it could take anything from 5 minutes to 5 hours, ill keep you informed!" just what you want too here, so the dispatcher and questioned certain passengers onboard our flight. After around 30 minutes the doors shut and the captain told us we was cleared from US Immigration. We started push at 13:52, and taxiied to runway 24R. We had an Virgin Atlantic Boeing 747-400 behind us, postioning to Gatwick as 'Virgin 74Papa" We the departed after a long run! the aircraft interior was rather nice but not upto my standards! im use to Virgin! They wern't kidding when they said they merged with Excel Airways, everything either had XL.Com on it or Excel Airways! even the Cabin Crew were Excel Airways! One member of them was Janine, who is off the TV Programme Trolley Dollies On Living TV! The flight was noneventful i had a Cajun Chicken Dinner (i had the last one :D) It was very bumpy for most of it! We then landed at 17:26 local. The Return Flight Details Airline - Excel Airways Flight Number - XLA 137 / 137L Callsign - "Expo 137 Heavy" Departure Airport - Orlando Sanford International / KSFB / Florida, USA / SFB Arrival Airport - Manchester International Airport / EGCC / UK / MAN Departure Date - Sunday 10th September 2006 / Monday 11th September Aircraft - Boeing 747-312 'TF-AME' Schedualed Departure Time - 20:30EDT | 00:30Z | 01:30BST Actual Departure Time - 20:32EDT | 00:32Z | 01:32BST Schedualed Arrival Time- 09:35BST 08:35Z Actual Arrival Time - 08:35BST | 07:35Z Schedualed Boarding Time - 20:00EDT | 00:00Z Actual Boarding Time - 19:10EDT | 23:10Z Seats - 29ABC & 30C Departure Gate - 4 Arrival Gate - Remote Check-In Opened -13:00EDT Departure Runway - 09L Arrival Runway 24R SELCAL Code - BD-JK The Flight Ok after 2 weeks, we did every theme park, Went to a house party, stayed at my relatives and survived Ernesto! I got 2 pics from my aunts house one of TF-AME and Thomas Cook 332! http://i3.photobucket.com/albums/y57/Fly_for_XLA_and_MON/100_0494.jpg http://i3.photobucket.com/albums/y57/Fly_for_XLA_and_MON/100_0495.jpg http://i3.photobucket.com/albums/y57/Fly_for_XLA_and_MON/100_0509.jpg But now it was home time! :( we awoke at 6:30am as we was using TCD Freetime check-in, which opened at 07:30 at Beuna Vista, we got there and there was no sign of ant TCD reps, so it turned 8am and a women came and asked us if a person from TCD had spoke to us, we said no, and she said its been cancelled becuase of a computer failure, well we was cool about it, but a london family was swearing at this poor women! she was only there too fix the computer, about 3 mins later, the couple from Manchester airport Check-inqueue turned up and we said hi and explained what was going on, then a TCD Rep turned up and issued us with vouchers for the Priority Queue at SFB airport and we didnt have too queue. We spent the rest of the day at my relatives house and went too the airport around3 to check in, Im not too sure why but this flight was now called XLA137L but nothing was differnet so it didnt bother me one bit! http://i3.photobucket.com/albums/y57/Fly_for_XLA_and_MON/100_0538.jpg http://i3.photobucket.com/albums/y57/Fly_for_XLA_and_MON/100_0540.jpg we did so and went through security and waited for our flight! it started boarding 50 minutes early, and we was all onboard by 19:55EDT we was told our flighttime was 07:05 and we was going up the US East coast, spend 3 hours over the atlantic then decend over Dublin. We started push at 20:12 and departed at 20:32! i was very happy with this! we had a great view of Sanford! it was then night time! and i awoke shortly after sunrise! http://i3.photobucket.com/albums/y57/Fly_for_XLA_and_MON/100_0515.jpg http://i3.photobucket.com/albums/y57/Fly_for_XLA_and_MON/100_0516.jpg we was told we would be arriving into manchester around 1 hour early, i was really pleased by this! we started our decent and approach into Manchester, http://i3.photobucket.com/albums/y57/Fly_for_XLA_and_MON/100_0521.jpg http://i3.photobucket.com/albums/y57/Fly_for_XLA_and_MON/100_0524.jpg we landed at 08:35BST, One of the smoothest ever! and we vacated the runway at A2! and then taxiied to a remote stand next to a Jet2 757 and a Virgin 747, we bussed it over too T2. To end our holiday! All In All Check-In - 6/10 Aircraft - 5/10 Puncuality? - 8/10 Cabin Crew? - 8/10 IFE - 2/10 (Not Seatback like most airlines :() Security - 10/10 Fly With Them Again - Not Longhaul, Maybe Shorthaul Conclusion TCD had a very bad rep, as a 'Chav' airline, well there wasnt any on the flight, only about 2, but they were at the back of the plane. i think Excel airways have helped them as in Crew and meals etc, out of the whole TCD / Excel Airways i would give them a stern 6/10 Becuase of some minor and 1 or 2 major faults! I really hope you enjoyed my report! Please post comments! :D Jon :)
Original post
Profile picture for user andrewm

Member for

19 years 9 months

Posts: 4,213

Brilliant Report!
Profile picture for user Jon Taylor

Member for

14 years 1 month

Posts: 459

Edit Just Found These Pics, One Of Our Flightplan, And On Of Our Arrival Time http://i3.photobucket.com/albums/y57/Fly_for_XLA_and_MON/XLA137Flightplan.jpg http://i3.photobucket.com/albums/y57/Fly_for_XLA_and_MON/XLA137.jpg Jon
Profile picture for user RingwaySam

Member for

14 years 6 months

Posts: 848

One of the best flight reports I have read! Glad you enjoyed your holiday.
Profile picture for user manchestersam

Member for

13 years 10 months

Posts: 157

Excellent report there Jon and some great, interesting pics too:D
Profile picture for user G-CDFF

Member for

14 years 1 month

Posts: 1,289

Grear report and pics to go with it!! :D:D

Member for

16 years 5 months

Posts: 12,842

A good yarn lad with great pics
Profile picture for user Future Pilot

Member for

16 years 2 months

Posts: 3,394

Great report Jon, very enoyable read :D.
Profile picture for user tomfellows

Member for

14 years 6 months

Posts: 1,995

Great pictures and a very enjoyable report:D.
Profile picture for user Fly-Ste

Member for

13 years 4 months

Posts: 52

XLent :)(excellent) Can't wait to go with them again now next year!! Great pictures too!
Profile picture for user Rickt

Member for

13 years

Posts: 552

what a good read... Cheers