Flight Simulator X

Profile picture for user EGPH

Member for

13 years 8 months

Posts: 693

Hey guys, Sorry I seem to be asking a lot of late :o . Anyway a m8 of mine downloaded the free demo of FSX available from the Microsoft website and even at this stage it looks incredible!! Anyway does anyone have any info on how good a computer you would need to have to be able to run it. I have a fairl new computer (about 10 months old) but it isnt really top of the rang at a 2.8 Ghz processeor, will FSX just kill my computer? Regards AJ
Original post

Member for

14 years 7 months

Posts: 232

You could always try the demo and see for yourself ? The min specs are on the M$ website but I would imagine your PC will handle it Bruce
Profile picture for user EGPH

Member for

13 years 8 months

Posts: 693

lol Thanks 'lectra I will see the demo (gulp 646Mb!!!!!!!!!) and see if my computer can handle it and if the broadband does what it says lol.
Profile picture for user Jon Taylor

Member for

14 years 1 month

Posts: 459

yer my download took around 50 minutes and the instalation is around 10 minutes. it loooks superb at the moment! cant wait for the finasl product! :D Jon
Profile picture for user bmi-star

Member for

15 years 7 months

Posts: 4,255

Now is a good time to test it, make sure its up to it on your system! A bit of tweaking on my side, and i imporved my FPS!
Profile picture for user T5

Member for

19 years 9 months

Posts: 6,503

Do bear in mind that many of us Flight Simulator 2004 users have numerous add-ons and our computers can handle everything pretty well. If it can handle that much scenery and advanced aircraft, too, handling FSX at even the most basic settings and using the default scenery shouldn't be that much of a problem. Can someone clear up the difference between Standard and Professional editions though? The only difference I can spot is in the price! :confused:

Member for

14 years 7 months

Posts: 232

Do bear in mind that many of us Flight Simulator 2004 users have numerous add-ons and our computers can handle everything pretty well. If it can handle that much scenery and advanced aircraft, too, handling FSX at even the most basic settings and using the default scenery shouldn't be that much of a problem.
That's simply not the case I'm afraid. My desktop PC runs my FS9 install really smoothly. I have a lot of add on scenery and aircraft and get fluid performance even in dense scenery with complex weather. The FS X demo chugs along very slowly on the same machine even with low settings. I've spent a couple of hours tweaking the settings but it is still barely playable. I wont consider using FS X on this machine until I've upgraded. Bruce

Member for

14 years 4 months

Posts: 221

I originally posted this in the screenshots forum, because of the conversation at the time, but here is probably more apropriate. So appologies for the double post... :o Just downloaded the FSX demo myself. Only took 22 mins , it's good to having 8Meg BB. Thanks for the link. One question though, if I may... Will the demo interfere with, or up-set my FS9 installation? Because of all the add-ons I'd rather not have to un-install that or have it screwed up. Also the spec stated to run FSX doesn't seem that unreasonable. I know that you are (according to Microsoft) supossed to be able to run FS2004 on a Pentium 2, and we all know that's no good. But I would have thought that most users here would be able to cope with FSX without too many problems. Don't forget it's still only a demo at the moment, I would suspect the final release will be improved. Crikey... What am I saying? This is Microsoft I'm talking about. :D
Profile picture for user Deano

Member for

16 years 2 months

Posts: 2,623

I downloaded and had a fly of the new demo last week, I must say it is a vast improvement, the ATC is actually quite real compared to the rubbish in FS9, the planes are excellent as well and graphics are superior, and the flight models alot better than their current offering, this version is going to be great, and it ran very very well on my system and I saw no program degradation on my system
Profile picture for user SOFTLAD

Member for

19 years 9 months

Posts: 1,109

Ive just spent an hour downloading it, clicked on run and it seems to have vanished ? Any ideas where to find it or how to start it up ? Thanks in advance.

Member for

13 years 2 months

Posts: 5

Downloaded the demo of FS X. It runs fine on my 3.7G with an X700 GFX. Turned the settings up to max and it started stuttering at about 15-20 fps. It looks like I will have to upgrade my GFX card. Looking at an ATI 1900. The program ran ok, which is more than I can say for the 2004 ver which kept locking up, cured it by keeping the settings down.
Profile picture for user Future Pilot

Member for

16 years 2 months

Posts: 3,394

I've just finished downloading it taking just over an hour, better be bloody worth it! :D.
Profile picture for user Future Pilot

Member for

16 years 2 months

Posts: 3,394

Well that download completley refused to co-operate with my PC, after double clicking on the icon it took about 5 minutes before anything started happening. It then extracted the files and told me the system would have to be restarted to complete installation. When Windows came back on it told be it couldn't find this filepath and that the system had recovered from a serious error! I for one am not touching that again and deleted it, we recently had a major problem with our computer with a hard-drive failure so not going to risk any other problems when we have everything running sooth now.
Profile picture for user SOFTLAD

Member for

19 years 9 months

Posts: 1,109

Where did you go to delete it ? I want to get rid of it too but can't locate the bloody thing !
Profile picture for user Future Pilot

Member for

16 years 2 months

Posts: 3,394

Well the internet browser I use is Mozilla Firefox which always downloads files to my desktop, what browser do you use? because most give you the option of where to download too.
Profile picture for user SOFTLAD

Member for

19 years 9 months

Posts: 1,109

Found it and got rid, but thanks anyway. Won't be doing that again in a hurry ! Think i will wait till it is rellwased in oct.
Profile picture for user BigJet

Member for

15 years 7 months

Posts: 1,670

Right, i downloaded it, its goood, but i really dont like the slow zooming in and out, that will drive me mad!
Profile picture for user andrewm

Member for

19 years 9 months

Posts: 4,213

BigJet it can be changed in one of the settings menus. Anyone noticed size of trees in TNCM compared to B747 AI Traffic and Buildings....
Profile picture for user adamdowley

Member for

16 years 3 months

Posts: 1,381

right, i cant get the demo becuase im still living somewhere near to the Stone Age/dial up era, so there are a couple of things i'd like to know. what can do with the demo? i know its limited to St. Maarten, but what aircraft are available in the demo; is ATC provided? if so, is it more realistic, and is the world seemingly full of american controllers? are there more voices and accents? do the aircraft seem to fly more 'realistically? ive seen some screenshots from users of the demo, and to be honest, i'm not really very impressed. yes, i know its only a demo so the real thing is likely to be better, but there don't seem to be any improvements made in the weather simulations - the clouds and sky look too like FS9; and if you can get rain in the demo, does it look more realistic? just some simple things that i'd like to have cleared up. thanks

Member for

14 years 7 months

Posts: 33

While you are limited to the St. Maarten area (now, don't go flying about the clothing optional beaches to check out whether it really is "as real as it gets"), you can add your favorite FS9 models and check them out. It appears that when the demo was compiled, an essential texture was left out. Remember to copy the envmap.bmp from you fs9\texture to the fsx\texture folder in order to have reflections working correctly. Initially, models with alpha channel reflections were instead appearing transparent. Apparently, on SOME systems, it's causing crashes to desktop. I haven't experienced that. My system is an older (2-3 years) 1.64GHz Pentium, ATI Radeon 9000 (64M video Ram) and runs FS-X demo at about 15fps. MAxing out the sliders for high quality graphics producing a whopping 6fps.... maybe. There are some graphics issues with my setup because while most of the time I'm seeing low resolution scenery and blurry aircraft textures, there are flashes of beautiful detail... Overall, the FS-X demo appears to have a few bugs still, but the final code is not locked in, so there will be tweaks. I understand that there already have been some issues that weren't caught in the closed beta, and the ACES team are attending to them. I think this one will finally knock FS2000 and FS2002 from my computer, unless I can surreptitiously install FS-X onto my wife's new computer... :diablo:
Profile picture for user taylorman

Member for

14 years 3 months

Posts: 563

Got a problem here as well, downloaded the demo, installed it, then it says that it has to restart, so I restart, then when restarted, it says it can't find the setup.exe :confused: it installs with winzip self-extractor, anyone know where I can find the setup.exe file????