Words Fail Me

Read the forum code of contact

Member for

13 years 9 months

Firstly, lets get this out the way. I am NOT a racist.but I WILL give you an example of how easy it could have been 40 yrs ago. It was 03.00. in the morning, at that time I was a Patrol Car driver. Parked up on the grass verge, facing the A17 road at Fleet Hargate. at this time, there was NO street lightiing. I heard a car coming well into the distance it passed me at well over the 60 MPH limit. it was a black BMW and had tinted windows, I estimated its speed at about 80 to 100 MPH.
I gave chase, and it took me until nearly at the Norfolk border to catch and stop the driver.
Having stopped this car, I walked up to the drivers door and tapped on the window, I could not see who was in the car.
The window was wound down, and I saw the driver was a male, coloured. I told him why I had stopped him, re his speed, and he said, "You only stopped me because I am black"
I pointed out there was no street lighting, he had tinted windows and travelling at the speed of light, made identification of the driver impossible.
Even then all those years ago he tried to play the RACE card, however, it didn't work with me, and I booked him, as I would have done whatever colour he was.Surprising how many times that happened in my 30yrs of Service.

Lincoln .7

Member for

24 years 2 months

Lincoln 7, just making it very clear that I did not mean to come in any way to call you a racist. Apologies if my post somehow made you think that way.

Member for

13 years 9 months

Hi. In no way shape or form did I even think you were calling ME a RACIST.

I was putting forward an incident which happened to me, that COULD but didn't make me into a racist. You wouldn't beleive some of the stories I could tell you on that subject.
I think you put your views across very nicely.

Lincoln .7

:)

Member for

13 years 11 months