Red Arrows Ejection death

Read the forum code of contact

Member for

11 years 4 months

A seat can be maintained and operated correctly this dose not mean it will operate correctly. As an engineer I have tested parts on the bench that have tested OK but once fitted to the air-frame have proven to have a fault the MK-10 has a number of cartridges and triggers that operate in sequence all you need is a dud cartridge which you can't test you can only fit and hope it fires when needed

Member for

10 years 2 months

I think you mid read his post. He said if he ejects and comes down IN his seat. My understanding is a seat separates from the pilot. In this case did the seat not separate? If so then there was something not necessarily right with the seat which I think OPIT was getting at. xxxxxxxxxxxx

Member for

11 years 5 months

I would like to read the results of the inquiry when they are released .....

So would I but referring back to my post #7 where is it coming from?

Member for

18 years 7 months

For sure, there're some risks of injury even with zero-zero ejection seats. Nobody ever disputed that fact. I disputed the fact that a crew could die due to the seat landing on him, because that just can't happen. But I digress.
What you fail to understand is that a zero-zero ejection seat is not supposed to keep the aircrew strapped on until it hits the ground. That's a malfunction, not a risk.

Member for

18 years 3 months

I think you mid read his post. He said if he ejects and comes down IN his seat. My understanding is a seat separates from the pilot. In this case did the seat not separate? If so then there was something not necessarily right with the seat which I think OPIT was getting at. I do also think it's bad form to call him a liar when you have no proof either way.