Was the french option the best choice for Australia?

Read the forum code of contact

Profile picture for user Y-20 Bacon

Member for

9 years 1 month

Japan and the US are having its panties in a knot that the Ozzies chose Frenchy.

so what do the armchair admirals think?

I forgot where I read it..but

the advantage of the Japanese design was strategic regional cohesion, offer to build all in Australia, and to use Japanese facilities. Japan seemed to be willing a lot of secret stealth tech transfers too
disadvantage said that the design itself doesn't perform much better than the existing Jason Collins class.

the French design is supposedly quieter with the revolutionary propulsion design

but its said the German design was the best.

Original post
Profile picture for user QuantumFX

Member for

13 years 4 months

On paper the French one seems the biggest and baddest, but then again I am no expert, heck not even a novice.

Jonesy we need your wisdom!

http://4.bp.blogspot.com/-yuGHDC-EYq0/VQpOpaE-ZnI/AAAAAAAAGEk/_nIPPEnuEGU/s1600/SEA%2B2000%2Bcontenders.jpg
http://australianmadedefence.com.au/wp-content/uploads/2015/05/NewsCorp-Comparison.jpg

Profile picture for user Jonesy

Member for

22 years 4 months

On paper the French one seems the biggest and baddest............

For my money I cant see why you wouldnt go with the Soryu. Problems with the French boat are:

1. Its been designed as a nuke.
  2. Its been designed for colder European waters