USAAF B-17 Pilot Werner Goering

Read the forum code of contact

Member for

15 years 6 months

Hell Above Earth: The Incredible True Story of an American WWII Bomber Commander and the Copilot Ordered to Kill Him by Stephen Frater

I'm just learning about the story of Hermann Goering’s American born nephew Werner Goering who at age 19 was a captain of a USAAF B-17 in the 8th Air Force. He did a full combat tour and then volunteered for a second tour, was a Squadron Leader, Pathfinder, and was awarded the DFC.

Goering was paired with co-pilot Jack Rencher. The day before they were introduced Rencher was told to report to the base commander at Ft. Douglas, Utah. Arriving at 1PM wearing a dress “A” uniform, he was left in a room with 2 FBI agents who explained who Werner Goering was and that they wanted Jack to fly with him and if Goering ever tries to land the plane voluntarily they wanted Jack to shoot him in the head and take his dog tags and identification. If they were shot down or forced to land Goering could not be taken alive.

Hermann Goering had an interesting family and they all seem to have been better human beings than him. I’ll be buying this one as soon as I decide what format. Here is a link to a brief interview with author Stephen Frater regarding the book.

http://www.avweb.com/podcast/podcast/AudioPodcast_StephenFrater_HellAboveEarth_BookAuthor_206601-1.html?kw=AVwebAudio

Original post

Member for

18 years 5 months

There is an article by Stephen Frater, adapted from his book, in the May/June edition of World War II, an American bimonthly magazine imported by Comag and available off the shelves from WHS.

Member for

15 years 6 months

The first chapter of the book (469 pages) is also available as a free download from Amazon.

Member for

13 years 7 months

The first chapter is 469 pages? There aren't many entire books that long.

Member for

15 years 10 months