New Build Halifax/s ?

Read the forum code of contact

Member for

24 years 3 months

Hi folks,
This is my first time on this board,so treat me gently won't you please :-)))

This is strictly a hypothetical question.(if only it could be true though!)

When the Yorkshire Air Museum at Elvington built their Halifax,I am aware that some sections had to be built from new,the rear fuselage and nose especially.
I understand ,from what I was told,that the drawings do exist for the Halifax,this obviously enabling them (including BAe) to build the required sections.
If someone wanted to ,and was rich enough of course,would it be possible to build a complete brand new Halifax,every bit of it,structure at least ,whether static or flying?
Engine availability ,Merlin or Hercules ,would maybe be a problem ,but if that "little" problem could be overcome...........
I presume that the "cost per unit" would reduce if more than one example was required,up to 20 approx ,about 8 of them flyers.

What is likely to be the reaction of the CAA to this kind of proposal?

Thanks in advance for sensible answers,
FURY.

PS- I don't want this to turn into another real V replica debate please,that is not part of the question.
PPs- Could someone PLEASE tell me how to use the emotion icons?

Original post

Member for

24 years 3 months

RE: New Build Halifax/s ?

I think that the cost of new build halifaxes would far out weigh the demand for say a run of 20 examples. Anyone else have any ideas.....?

Member for

24 years 3 months

LAST EDITED ON 16-07-01 AT 08:36 AM (GMT)[p]I think also, the time factor/man power to sort out such a large project, would be huge. You only have to look how long Glynn Powell in New Zealand has been building a Mosquito, from scratch! He's built a fuselage, & that's taken quite some time. So, if you consider the size of the Halifax, you have considerable problems (it helps that the Mossie is made of wood , compared with metal, which makes it a lot easier to work with).